HIV-Killing Condoms: The Real Story


condoms

As Told by the Active Ingredient
In 2005, an estimated 4.1 million people worldwide were newly infected with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) (UNAIDS 2006). — Rupp, Rosenthal and Stanberry, 2007
Who am I?

My name is SPL 7013. I am the active ingredient in those fancy new “HIV-killing condoms” you’ve been hearing about on Facebook and Twitter. The Washington Post claimed I could kill the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) that causes AIDS. That is not true, for several reasons which I will get into later.

The condoms that use me are produced by Starpharma, a major condom manufacturer in Australia. Starpharma claims that I (or the VivaGel for which I am the active ingredient at 3% weight/weight) have “been shown in laboratory studies to inactivate up to 99.9% of viruses, including HIV, the herpes virus (HSV), and the human papillomavirus (HPV), which are common viruses that cause sexually transmitted infections (STIs).” In the form of VivaGel, I have also been used in clinical trials testing for antiviral effects and treatment of bacterial vaginosis.

I suppose you could call me a bit of a hero of late! But, I’m afraid, I’ve let all this media attention get to my head.

Continue reading

About The Mental Meddler

A quirky, opinionated gay guy who offends both liberal and conservatives.

Posted on July 27, 2014, in Dating, Health, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on HIV-Killing Condoms: The Real Story.

Comments are closed.

